The History Of Our Homes
The charity’s origins can be traced back to 1840. The three original homes were called the Hand in Hand Asylum, the Widows’ Home Asylum and the Jewish Workhouse, also known as the Jewish Home. They were established in the old Jewish quarter in London’s East End to cater for the needs of poor Jewish people.
In 1894 the institutions amalgamated to become the Home for the Aged Jews. In 1904, the Home moved to its current site on Nightingale Lane in Clapham, South West London, following a gift of the house known as ‘Ferndale’ and grounds by Lord Wandsworth, the Viscount de Stern. Lord Wandsworth opened Nightingale House in 1910.
In the 1970’s The Home for the Aged Jews officially became known as Nightingale House.
In 1961 Hammerson House was established and opened in North West London by Mrs Sue Hammerson CBE in memory of her late husband Lewis W Hammerson. The building was added to and modernised over the years.
The latter half of the 20th century saw Nightingale House undergo major building projects to expand and modernise the site. These works included the opening of the Red Brick Extension in 1976 which was renamed the Gerald Lipton Centre in 2001 and re-opened by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh.
In 2011 HRH The Prince of Wales opened the state-of-the-art Wohl Wing at Nightingale House, dedicated to caring for the specific needs of people living with dementia.
The following year in 2012, Nightingale House and Hammerson House merged to create the organisation Nightingale Hammerson. The two homes, which have always had a close relationship, shared a common ethos that placed the utmost importance on providing quality care for residents.
Both homes brought a wealth of experience to the partnership which is now firmly established. In 2013 Nightingale Hammerson announced exciting plans for Hammerson House to undergo significant redevelopment.